Random thoughts…

Why is it so hard to find time to do things that you enjoy? There is always so much work to do here lately that I’ve been unable to sit down and write. I’m surprised that I enjoy this as much as I do. I certainly did not expect it. It seems like when I read something interesting in the news or hear a good message on the radio I think “That would be a good subject to post on my blog”. So, I’ve started jotting things down, hopefully, I’ll find time soon to sit down and write about some of those things.

Meanwhile…

One of the things I’ve been thinking a lot about lately in growing older, is that I’ve become a much deeper thinker and find things interesting that I never would have interested in when I was younger. Guess that comes with age… Having started the downhill slide to 50, I’m beginning to realize that although my mind doesn’t feel like it’s almost 50 years old, I find it weird to almost be a half century old. Now, some people have a thing about getting old and having birthdays after arriving at a certain age (for some it is 25, others it is 30 or 40) is depressing and sad for them. As for me, I don’t really care about getting older. It is a fact of life and it isn’t something I can change so my philosophy is to grow older gracefully and take my experiences in life and hopefully grow wiser learning from whatever the outcome may be from my experiences. Now, with the exception of coloring my hair (to cover the gray, mainly because mine is a little blah) and not wearing bifocals with lines (so I wear the progressive lenses) I don’t plan on doing much of anything else to retain a youthful look. Others may feel the need but I don’t, never have and never will. Don’t get me wrong, I still want to look nice and presentable, but I have no desire to go backwards in life so I don’t need to turn back the clock by surgery or any other means.  I figure I’ve earned and will earn every wrinkle that I get. 🙂

Last year we went to visit my nephew Josh who is 21 yrs old and stationed in Pensacola. We went to this wonderful museum (one of those things I didn’t really enjoy when I was young but do now) on the base and in one display came across one of those old washing machines that had an agitator but then you took the clothes out and ran them through the ringer so that you could hang them on the line. I remember my grandmother having one and as a very young girl getting the tips of my fingers pinched one time. As I stood in front of that and explained to Josh that I helped his Great Grandmother with the laundry when I was very little with a machine just like that. Suddenly, I realized just how old being almost a half a century was. The light bulb went off and I understood the stories and memories my parents and grandparents have shared about when they young that seemed so foreign to me then. Now, I find myself telling stories to the young people in my life as my parents and grandparents have done.

Time just moves so fast, guess if the Lord tarries, the coming years are only going to fly by even faster. The best thing is that it moves me closer to eternity with my Lord and Savior. That alone is a great reason to celebrate each passing year dontcha think!

Have a blessed day!

P.S. I wrote this very late and now that I’m older, I don’t think as clearly late at night so hopefully this reads coherently ’cause it is way past my bed time (first chance to sit down and type)!

One Response

  1. Yes. we are almost as old as dirt, as my children say!
    I agree with what you have said. In a lot of ways, I don’t recognize my younger self. I like me a lot better now!
    I’m much more interested AND interesting.

Leave a Reply

